About Us

About Us

History of the Province

"If I could be of any service in saving souls in any part of the globe, I would willingly do all in my power”. Ven. Nano Nagle

The North India Province of the Presentation Sisters, as we know it today, can proudly claim a rich history. Faithful to the missionary dimension of the Congregation,the Sisters of Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary responded generously to the invitation of Most Rev. Dr. Fennely and spread their wings from Rahan, Ireland to George Town, Madras (now Chennai) on 13 January 1842. Later on, the Sisters from Rawalpindi arrived in Srinagar on 17 March 1936. They were welcomed by Maharaja Hari Singh who gave them the permission to establish a school. Both the Groups of Sisters in the South and North of India ministered as two independent groups till the mid-seventies.

Province Leadership Team (2020 - 2025)

Province Leadership Team

Province Leadership Team (2015-2020).jpg

Province Leadership Team


The invitation of the Second Vatican Council, that Congregations having the same charism join together, saw the amalgamation of the Presentation Sisters in the North and the South of India into one Province. This Province became part of the Group that we know today as the Union of Sisters of the Presentation of the Virgin Mary.

The mandate of the 1991 General Chapter at Liverpool, followed by the recommendations of the International Structure Commission, the General Chapter of 1996 at Mutare, Zimbabwe asked the Provinces to look into the possibility of creating meaningful structures, for the effectiveness of life and mission. The Indian Province was one of the Units that explored this possibility, and after much discernment, decided to restructure the Indian Province into 1 Unit with 4 Circles. This came into effect on 1st June, 1998. This structure continued to function for 17 years. After evaluation and consultation, we came to the awareness that the way the Circles functioned raised some issues in relation to Legal and Canon Law.

In 2010, the Unit Leadership Team was given the mandate to begin a process of looking into what structure could best facilitate life and mission in the Unit, given the size and diversity of India.

In 2014, a process of discernment was followed and the members voted in favour of the Indian Unit being organized into two Provinces with effect from 01 June 2015. Following consultation with the members, the Congregation Leadership Team made the following decision regarding the configuration of the two provinces (Refer to Our Way of Life-D 61.2). The North India Province comprising of: Bihar, Delhi, Haryana, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh and Odisha and the South India Province comprising of: Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Kerala, Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu.